forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma

I read so many rave reviews about this book, that I thought, Wow, this has got to be fantastic. What was it? Depressing, thought provoking, and in the end, pointless. Forbidden follows the tale of Lochan and Maya, two young people who find themselves hopelessly in love, but they can’t be. For Lochan and Maya are brother and sister, the eldest children in a household, and the only ones capable of providing care for the others. Granted this book made me think about the relationship of the two, and I’m still not sure how I feel about that, I doubt I ever will, but the two characters don’t really learn anything. The characters don’t really grow at all in the book, except to open more to one another. I was completely and totally disappointed, and have to only give this book 2 star, and that’s for originality, which really isn’t all that original if you’ve read Flowers in the Attic.

